The Witch's Throne: Interview With the Author

image1 (1).JPG

In preparation for the release of The Witch's Throne, I've been preparing promotional materials, like the interview below that will be included on the book's Amazon product description page. Thought I'd share it here...

Interview with the Author

Q - What makes the Thea Drake Mystery series special?

A – I would say because of the meaning behind each mystery. When I began to plan and write the books, I intended to create a series with resonance beyond each puzzle to solve. I wanted to write a compelling mystery with reason for the reader to go back and enjoy the story again, finding new value with multiple readings.

As a lifelong mystery reader, and a fan of horror and classic ghost stories, I set out to create a series of paranormal mysteries with a strong hold in rationality. Some of my favorite traditional mystery stories involve paranormal themes. Think Hound of the Baskervilles or The Pale Horse by Agatha Christie—even the early Scooby-Doo cartoons! All of these stories involved paranormal mysteries solved by rational, if sometimes bizarre, explanations.

Q - What can readers expect from each book and the series as a whole?

A – Each book in the Thea Drake series offers a paranormal mystery explained by reason and logic, resulting in insight into the characters’ beliefs and reactions to supernatural events.

Each book offers a puzzling mystery, believable, well-developed characters, a plot that moves forward at a steady clip, and a sincere, insightful meditation on the mysteries of the human heart.

The entire series is ultimately about why we indulge in these fantasies about ghosts, witches, psychics, and the whole paranormal realm. It's about the lengths to which people go to add meaning to their lives through stories, imagination, even self-deception.

Characters in this series are drawn to concepts they deem too dangerous or difficult to explore in reality—love, death, fear—so they evoke them with stories, making sense of them from the safety of their inner world of fantasy. By blaming a loved one’s death on a witch’s curse, for instance.   

Q – In what order should I read the books?

A –

Book 1: The Witch’s Throne – Thea must find a rational explanation for the strange circumstances of her husband’s death.

Book 2: Haunts of the Brethren – Thea searches for buried treasure, her missing friend, and the truth about a woman who claims to be 350 years old.

Book 3: Come In, Charlie – Thea attempts to find a missing teenage girl who disappears during a demon-summoning game.

Q – Who should give these books a try?

A – Mystery readers who enjoy amateur sleuths solving paranormal mysteries with thematic resonance will enjoy reading about Thea Drake.

Thea is a strong female protagonist with flaws, a recent widow who built her entire life around her late husband. Now that he is gone, she struggles to build a new life with no idea what that life should look like.  

Book One, The Witch’s Throne, begins as Thea is struggling to find belief in herself. Standing in her way are ordinary challenges wrapped in extraordinary circumstances. As the series progresses, Thea finds belief (and therefore increased strength and power) in herself, despite these challenges. Through each mystery she solves, and each truth she uncovers, she learns to accept herself and others.

Bottom line, the series is about all the different ways in which people can be haunted and how we find peace through our choices and beliefs.

I sincerely hope you enjoy, and thanks for reading!

The Witch's Throne Available September 12

It's finally here. I have FINALLY completed the first novel in my planned mystery series. Why has the process taken so long? 

One word: Kids. 

I am a parent. For those of you who are also parents, I need say no more. For those of you who aren't, I'm sure you can imagine, based on all the complaining your parent friends and acquaintances indulge in, the extent of time and energy sucked from those who procreate.

And yet, I persevere! In three short weeks, the first book in the Thea Drake Mysteries series (and my first completed novel, ever) will appear on Amazon. 

If you're not on my mailing list, sign up here to receive an email on launch day and most probably discounts and promotions to come.


A Witch’s Curse.

A Century of Unexplained Deaths.


Recent widow Thea Drake wants to forget about the paranormal—ghosts, demons, psychics, all of it. After her husband George, a professional skeptic, dies in a tragic accident while researching his final case—the curse of The Witch’s Throne—Thea wants only to provide their two daughters with a new version of normal for their future.

But when George’s greatest rival, renowned psychic Beverly Donneville, claims that George was in fact the curse’s seventh victim, Thea grows suspicious of the supernatural circumstances surrounding her husband’s death. She travels back to the site of the Witch’s Throne in the old-growth forests of a small town in Oregon to find the truth…and uncovers a mystery larger—and more dangerous—than she expected.

Book One of the Thea Drake Mysteries